Communication has changed significantly in the last 10 years. Discuss pros and cons of this change.

In these days, there is no denying the reality that communication has changed considerably over the last decade. While many people believe that the change brings about positive impact to people’s lives, other feel that the opposite is also correct. This essay offers some insights on both the merits and demerits of the development.

Perhaps, the greatest benefit people enjoy from the advancement in communication is the convenience that it brings about. As a matter of fact, with the advent of the mobile phones and the internet, people can keep in touch with one another regardless of physical distance and location. Such convenience would save a great deal of time and effort to send and receive messages. Another advantage of such development is that people can stay updated with the latest information thanks to the internet. To give an illustration, people can easily get the news around the world by reading online newspaper.

Nonetheless, like two sides of a same coin, communication advancement also creates many problems. The most obvious negative impact is the significant decline in physical interaction between humans. This is due to the fact that people can easily make internet calls to update each other with the latest information and hence, physical gathering is no longer required. To give an illustration, instead of traveling to the meeting venue, nowadays people can just stay at home and attend online meetings.

In conclusion, form the above analysis, it is clear that while communication advancement allows people to enjoy great benefits, it also brings upon a number of drawbacks to others’ lives and the society.