It is well-known that education occupies central role in the development of a country. However, health care , transport, water, electricity, an effective law enforcement agency and an impartial judiciary are of no less significance. In the objective analysis, it is agreed that in order to achieve all the other things aforementioned and for the overall development, country needs robust education system to all their citizens.

To begin with, manpower is the most important resource possessed by a country. The identification of natural resources and their effective utilization for the common good are possible only when the people are educated. In the absence of a well-informed citizenry, rulers engage in corruption and squander public money on wars and other nonproductive activities. As an example, cocoa, an essential ingredient of chocolates and the sweet dishes, is mainly an African product, although most of the cocoa cultivators in Africa live in abject poverty because of their illiteracy.

Secondly, education makes people aware about their rights and responsibilities. Countries, in which people face discrimination based on gender, race, religion are much less progressive. For instance, all the major inventions and discoveries have been made by people who hail from progressive countries. Child labour, trafficking women and children for for illegal sex trade exist in countries with educational backwardness.

In conclusion, a country needs education for development, since the optimum use of manpower and natural resources ensures progress. In order to make it a reality in the changed global economic scenario, where globalization has an impact in every field, every citizen should have a high standard of education.