Euthanasia is the termination of a very sick person's life in order to relieve them of their suffering. A person who undergoes euthanasia usually has an incurable condition. But there are other instances where some people want their life to be ended. This essay will discuss why euthanasia should be accepted by the society.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons to bring this practices in the modern society. Firstly, the unbearable pain is the main reason people seek euthanasia, but some surveys in the USA and the Netherlands showed that less than a third of requests for euthanasia were because of severe pain. Terminally ill people can have their quality of life severely damaged by physical conditions such as incontinence, nausea and vomiting, breathlessness, paralysis and difficulty in swallowing. Psychological factors that cause people to think of euthanasia include depression, fearing loss of control or dignity, feeling a burden, or dislike of being dependent.

On the other hand, Some people think that euthanasia shouldn't be allowed, even if it was morally right, because it could be abused and used as a cover for murder. Moreover, human beings have the right to decide on issues of life and death and the the different ideas that people have about the meaning and value of human existence.

In conclusion, mercy killing or euthanasia is not a big offence, perhaps thinking of it for someone who is terminally ill and suffering prolonged, unbearable pain. In my opinion, these practices should bring into the society under legal control.