The majority of television news being reported is bad news: wars, famines, accidents and crime. Some people think that television news should be a mixture of good and bad news.

Choose whether you agree or disagree with this statement and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

The media is responsible for widespread coverage and our perception of the news from all over the world. Some people think that news that we watch should be a blend of positive and negative events, however, others disagree and argue for freedom of electronic media. In this essay, I will explain why it is apt to have a balance of positive and negative news for the society.

Firstly, as human beings, we all agree that watching negative programs or news on the television creates stress and tension in our minds. The violent news programs showing heinous human acts are not only intimidating but also provoking. For instance, media coverage of a war between two countries is less on the current situation but more on the trauma and difficulties faced by the people in the war affected area. As a result, it develops pessimistic thoughts in the people watching such programs. Therefore, media can reduce unnecessary stress on the society by avoiding negative news.

Secondly, the positive news creates a healthy environment for humanity. It improves people's faith in human values such as trust, care and support others in tough situations. For instance, watching the documentary of Mother Teresa inspire us to work towards the development of underprivileged. Hence, positive news helps in building more robust and resilient society.

In conclusion, realistic portrayal of positive events is necessary to bring positive changes in the society and avoiding negative news can keep us stress-free. In my opinion, a balanced television news should be good in order to keep all of us duly informed about different events happening around the world.