Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Visual media, specifically television, has become more popular in our lives. There may be different reasons why people are finding it more useful but two basic reasons namely "to inform" and "to entertain" stand out. Although Television is serving the purpose of news dissemination but it is more widely used for entertainment. In the busy life of common man, resources for entertainment available at home are limited and that where Television pitches in to help relieving them.

In this era of over hyped life, people have become dependent things of recreation and rely on various programs offered on television that ranges from soap opera to wildlife, from information on tiny organisms to medical lectures. For example, discovery channel runs documentaries on new inventions and exploration whereas Animal planet offers entertainment on wildlife. You name it and a dedicated entertainment channel is available as per the customized need.

Further, of we delve more in the entertainment aspect of television, even news are offered in a way that is entertaining. No doubt news serves the purpose of informing public at large but Television channels like Fox News present news to be more informative and entertaining at the same time. News are being recited by glamorous models to bring the entertainment factor.

To conclude, without a shadow of doubt, more and more people are getting glued to television to seek entertainment in life whether that comes in the form of news of dedicated channel that offers rejoice.