10. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake Houset restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, we predict that Happy Pancake House will be able to increase profits dramatically if we extend this cost-saving change to all our restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

A memorandum from the Businees manager of Happy Pancake restaurants have been sent to promote for an idea of switching from Butter to Margarine which is more economical and as such more profitable. The manager cites the benefits and presents his arguments and reasons based on that application in his stores in the southwestern region of the United States. He further recommends projecting that so-called successful process to the Southeastern and Northeastern regions as well. I believe in order to prove that his switching process and subsequent success story in the southwest is cogent, the argument has to answer the following three questions.

First of all, populations differ dramatically in behavior, conduct, likes, dislikes as well as taste. The manager has downsized the American population to ‘one size fits all’…nations, people and inhabitants of large countries do not share the same criteria from north to south, east to west. Usually we have different demographies, typologies, ethnic groups and race. The previous criteria will definetly set the gounds for a difference in culinary orientation, what a particular group likes the other might not. The author suggests that the people in the southwest did not get affected when the butter was switched with margarine; however, such a change might dramatically affect the sales in any of the other locations as butter might be their primary additive to the pancake. People in the northeast or southeast might have a stronger inclination to butter and as such might strongly object the change or might stop their visits to the restaurents if butter was replaced with marganine.

Second, the author never mentions the duration of his trial, for how long did this experiment persist? Was it for one month, two month or merely a week or a few days? Such a criteria is crucial as it feeds into the study and will give guidance for further inverstigation. If the application was done for a longer period and was succesful, then his argument on this segment might be more plausible; however, if it was conducted for merely a week then it is not that cogent. Such a short period is not a strong indication of success, as the customers are still absorbing the change and have not yet had the time to physically develop a real reaction to the change. These customers might be on a rolling basis, that is they are new and we are not havind a feedback from returning customers…

Thirdly, the major question is whether the author has conducted a survey in the southwest region to decide if this change will instigate positive or negative attitudes and as such profits for his company. If he had done so, we would have known that this change will have a long term success in that region. Furthermore, that type of survey will be applied in the other two regions and upon two different populations and as such amended. If he had conducted these surveys then his success ambitions would have been more plausible and attainable.

Finally, the manger has to answer all the above questions in order to make his argument cogent and to convince those in charge to apply that so-called success story to the other two regions.