17. The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author recommends that the television station must spend more time to weather and local news than the national news for attracting viewers. When memorandum is considered as a whole, argument reveals several instances of weak reasoning and fails to mention key points. To support the argument, the author notes that local companies are cancelling their advertising contracts with the channel and there are complaints about the coverings of the station. However, the author misses information about complaints, such as the number and context of them. Also, manager does not mention the alternative reasonings for the canceled contracts. Hence, author must present evidences on the relevance of complains and the connection of failed contracts with the news.

To begin with, author readily assumes that several complaints have been made by the viewers. Unless the point is based on a solid ground, one cannot build a case on the issue. There must be a recording that keeps the number of complaints from the viewers also the content. Problems of viewers can be related to quality of the local news or the text that are written by the anchor. The recordings must be current and reliable. Thus the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that percentage of viewers, who are annoyed by time spent on the national views coverages.

In addition to that, author claims that companies are not pleasant with the time devoted national news. According to manager's view, since local news are not covered long durations and local viewers are declined, companies that have contracts cannot reach out the customers. So that authorities are determined to cancel advertising contracts with the station. Again argument is an unwarranted assumption as it does not demonstrate any concrete connection between the cancelings and covering national news more. To illustrate further, there could be sevaral reasons to cancel a contract. Economic crisis might hit the local companies or the budget deficit can be occurred in the company. In fact, there is a chance that canceling is not relevant to station at all. Companies might be thriving lately so that they do not need any advertisement on the channels. If the argument had provided that, companies are bluntly informing the reason why they are canceling, which must be the less coverage of the local news, it would have been a lot more plausible to reader.

Lastly, taking the above assumptions as warranted, author still needs to show evidence on how it certainly helps channel to attract more viewers. For instance, if there could be a fully reflecting and valid survey that asks viewers preferring the channel or not in the following of increased local news, assumption might be true. On the other side, channel could lose the viewers selecting the station for national views. Without evidentiary survey or detailed analysis on the viewer base, reader is left with the impression that claims made by author are more of an inkling idea rather than a substantiated case.

In conclusion, argument is not persuasive as it sounds. To strenghen the claims, manager must provide better evidences, perhaps a detailed survey and analysis on both the viewers and the companies giving up on the contracts. Lastly, better to evaluate the recommendation would be a success, again it would be necessary to ask the viewers about their preferences especially when this regulation is alive.