6. A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The above lines from a recent sales study state that comsumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past 5 years. The study claims that yet there are no operating restaurants currently whose speciality is sea food. Further, the majority of families in the Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that they prefer going to restauarants for meals rather than home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago provided they do have a conern about healthy eating. The author suggests that new Captiain Seafood restaurant famous for its seafood should be profitalbe and quite popular. Before we analyze the author's argument further, three questions have to answered respectively.

Firstly, Is there any evidence supporting the claim that the consumption of seafood dishes across the Bay City has increased over the past 5 years? The author's argument to be pragmatic is quite vague and unclear as there is no enough evidence such as facts and surveys supporting his argument. Additionally the author argues stating that there are no currently operating seafood restaurants in city and such claim has to be supported with proper evidence and as it has failed to so, it can be considered vague. So due to these reasons, the argument does not hold firm .

Secondly, there has been a nation wide study claiming that the majority of the families are two income families and prefer eating meals in a restaurant rather than at home. This above study has been a comprehensive survey conducted accross the entire country and is no where subjected to the Bay City alone. There has been no evidence such as surveys and statistics involving families living in the Bay City about their food preferences. Without proper evidence in the Bay City alone, the conclusion drawn in the initial argument is gradually weakened.

Thirdly, the author arugues that the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood to be quite popular across the Bay City. Prior to this, there been no certain evidence such as facts and statistics about the restaurant and its fame in specializing the seafood cuisine. And futher evidence has to be collected about the verdict or the reviews that it has garnered from the people of the Bay City for it to be considered popular and profitable across the city. Until then the above argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, as the author's argument is not supported with proper evidence such as surveys and statistics the author's claim may not be right and the above argument does not hold firm.