62) The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memon, the author suggests that the hospitals should supply UltraClean hand soaps because it can be used to inhibit patient infections. To support the argument, the author points out that UltraClean does a better in bacteria reduction compared to the current liquid hand soaps, and the test at the hospital in Workby is convincing. However, there are a number of unsubstantiated assumptions that need to be address before the decision-maker at the hospital could accept or reject the proposal.

In the process of reasoing, the author assumes that the positive test result at the hospital in Workby could be equally applied to all other hospitals. However, the conditions of the hospitals might not be similar enough and comparable. For example, maybe the original hand soaps supplied at the hospital in Workby suffer from severe contamination, thus it was not functioning well previously. Or, maybe the patients in that hospital are highly sensitive to even tiny amount of bacteria because they are infected by a certain disease. Without ruling out these factors, the author could not draw the conclusion that the result in other hospitals, if current hand soaps are replaced with UltraClean one, would be as comparable as the result in Workby.

Another assumption hidden behind the argument is that the hand soaps are responsible for the serious patient infections. However, we find no concrete evidence to substantiate the inevitable realtionship between the hand soaps and infections. For example, it is true that the UltraClean hand soaps do yield a significant improvement in bacteria reduction, but the original hand soaps might also do a good job that is execellent enough to pass the qualification regarding bacteria population limitation. In this case, the serious patient infections are less likely to be related to the hand soaps. Before comparing the quality of the hand soaps with the criteria of the industry, the author could not link the relationship between the hand soaps and the infections.

Last but not least, one more assumption that is also vital to the argument is that the UltraClean hand soaps could be supplied throught the whole hospital group. However, the author does not provide supporting evidence to reinforce the feasibility. For example, maybe the company producing that hand soaps has limited production capacity and thus it is unable to supply to all the hospitals in the group if they demand too much. Or, the hosptial group is short of budgets currently, and the management team would like to spend the budgets on other affairs such as improving the equipments or marketing compains. Unless the author could support the feasibility of supplying the hand soaps, the conclusion that it is possible to supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations is untenable.

In conclusion, even though the author proposes a potential beneficial plan to reduce the bacteria pupulation and further prevent patient infections, he or she should provide supporting evidence to address the assumptions above. These pieces of evidence include, but are not limited to, whether the test result in Workby can be applied to other hospitals, the relationship between hand soaps and infections, and feasibility of supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations.