According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this recent report, it indicates that an average cases of cheating gradually decreases by using honor code instead of deploying teachers to every classroom. In addition, most of the students in Groveton College said they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Hence, all colleges should adopt it to avoid cheating. It seems that an honor code impacts profoundly, however it may be some flaws after carefully analyzing its logical sequence.

To begin with, data in the survey is provided by teachers at school rather than third-party. Is it possible that the college is facing the periodic schooling evaluation? Consequently, school authorities should show that the policy really plays an important role in lowering the rate of cheating, even though teachers submitted fake data to principal. Do those teachers being responsible for collecting the sample have a burden to report the lower and lower number according to past years’ result? In this case, does the number they obtained completely and honestly represent the actual situation on campus?

On the other hand, it points out that a majority of students also expressed that they would be less reluctant to cheat owing to the design of honor code. Nevertheless, it’s similar that teachers interviewing examiners give those students pressure, such as grade, or even promise them to score higher only if providing opinion positive to an honor code. What’s more, we’re not able to know how many students they asked. It’s likely that three of two interviewees responded that an honor code prevents students from cheating successfully. Under this data, it’s reasonable to say the ratio is belong to majority but the sample is too small.

Last but not least, it suggests that all the college and universities should adopt an honor code subsequently. However, we cannot entirely deny an influence of an honor code, while it’s not convincing to say it can solve the problem all over the colleges. Firstly, have other colleges regulated strictly their rule? Secondly, is it highly correlated between the school’s ranks between the rates of cheating? It’s possible that most of the students studying in prestigious university aren’t willing to get better schools by cheating. There are still many variables needing more thoughtful considerations.

To sum up, it still needs lots of complete data to make a conclusion that all schools should adopt an honor code rather than assign teachers in each classroom.