Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

People cannot do one thing for such a long time if they aren’t interested in the certain field. Hence, I believe that college students should consider carefully when choosing a field of study, and they had better make a decision according to their own talents and interests.

A couple years ago, some conservative people in Taiwan may argue that the graduates who study the department they’re fond of aren’t easy to get the working opportunities, such as philosophy, literature, and art. In this case, they have to shoulder the college loan and aren’t able to be financially independent even though they’ve graduated. Consequently, some parents even prohibit their children from filling these profession when kids are filling the form. However, once people are passionate about their professions, they would go all out to master in the field and try to find their own path to the career. Take Taiwanese famous director, Lee-An, who now is the prestigious artist all over the world, for example. He studied in the best local high school in his hometown, but he failed to get admitted to college twice owing to the clear goal- being a director. However, after entering into University of Arts, he acted in play over 15 times and confirmed that he was really into arts and drama. With endless efforts and practices, he finally became a well-known director and created a record that he is the only one director who get the reward “best film” twice in Berlinale.

On the other hand, students choosing the field being related to their hobby would be reluctant to spend more time studying it. Take myself for example, I’m going to be a sophomore after summer vacation, and I love chatting and asking question with my Statistics professor, providing me with lots of other extensive material. What’s more, he invited me to join the meeting with his graduate students during the summer break, and accepted my unreasonable ask for teaching me to write a paper. To catch up with those students, I have to learn a program, called R, to finish the mutual homework, such as simulation or small project. Nevertheless, once I don’t like the field which I’m major in, then I would rather hang out with friend and participate in other activities in my summer plan. What’s worse, if people tend to choose the field regarding the availability of the job when enrolling the school, it may be a risky choice. Firstly, the job which seems popular may not be as hot as you predict as you really start to look for a job. Secondly, some profession, like computer science, looking attractive, may need aptitude and lots of time to master it. If you have no interest in, how can you tolerate that you have to debug every night when your roommates have already fallen sleep.

To sum up, I still believe that students should be encouraged to pursue their major that interest them rather than take the course seem most likely to lead to jobs.