Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.Writ

Choosing one’s college major is not an easy job. It is not uncommon for new entering students to ruminate on this decision for months or even years. According to the prompt, some people suggest that students follow their heart to choose a field they are passionate about, while others believe that students should choose their major based on jobs availability. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the former suggestion that students should look inward rather than outward when choosing a field of study for two reasons.

First of all, job availability for different industry and field is dynamic. Once popular job may be an outdated one in the next decade. Therefore, choosing one’s major mainly based on job availability is to take a short-term perspective, which will be a potential risk in this fast-changing world. For instance, from the 1950s through the 1980s, manufacturing was dominating national economics in Asia countries. During the time, students with mechanical engineering would find loads of jobs with high salaries. However, after 1990s, with the boom of Internet, market demand for hardware was replaced by software, and consequently mechanical engineering jobs soon gave way to software engineering jobs. The above example illustrates that job market is highly dependent on unpredictable factors. If students basically choose their major on job availability, assuming that job market is stable, then they may face difficulties at some point in the future.

Further, work performance is highly related to one’s talents and interests. In this competitive world, one who wants to standout from the others has to have passion on what he or she is doing so as to lead to the extraordinary performance. Consider a student who has no talents in quantitative field but really loves foreign literature; however, she chooses computer science as her major because of the technology boom with hundreds of thousands of jobs related to programming, what would her world be like? After graduation, she would become a software engineering facing a world full of codes she has no passion in, and thus with limited outcome and career growth. While every time she comes back home and sees an article from her favorite author on newspaper, she has to ask herself again if her life can be better if she chooses what she loves instead of what the world needs. She would be neither happy nor having sense of achievement, which is unlikely to lead to a successful career. This example demonstrated that choosing a field without own interests and talents will do harm to one’s productivity and happiness. On a macro scale, if people in the society all choose to devote to popular jobs instead of what they really love, the whole society will suffer from lower productivity and less diversity.

Some may argue that current job market is extremely competitive, so students should make preparation at school, and choosing a major with job availability is a secure way. However, it is because of the high competence in the job market that students should follow their own passion, since it is more likely to lead to a good quality of work performance and thus make them the outstanding ones and carve out a niche for themselves. Therefore, people should always listen to their inner voice when making decisions.