Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The change of social status of teachers has been a popular topic, and in my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement that teachers were more appreciated and valued by the society in the past comparing to teachers nowadays with two reasons.

To begin with, nowadays, students have multiple learning sources which means that they no longer need to rely solely on teachers speaking of education; therefore, the importance of teachers decreases. Take university students in Taiwan for example. In the past, school was the only learning channel for Taiwanese university students so they needed to pay full attention to what teachers delivered, which makes teachers rather valuable at that time. However, with the high Internet usage rate in Taiwan, university students nowadays can easily access some other learning channels on the Internet, such as Cousera, MOOC, or edX. In this way, they don't need to be so attentive to what teachers teach at school, since there are so many alternatives to learn other than school. Therefore, this results in the increasingly low attendance rate of universities courses, showing that students today care much less about university teachers and education comparing to the past.

Furthermore, in the past, education resource was very unique and could only be accessed by people who came from families which were either wealthy or with high social status, and only those who received high quality education could become teachers. This made the whole society considered teachers as a symbol of people with a respectable background, and therefore led to their high social status. Nonetheless, nowadays, in most countries, general education is required to every student, which means everyone can receive general degree of education, letting education resource no longer be limited to only a specific group of people. Therefore, it widens the background of teachers, making teachers no longer the symbol of high classes. Take Taiwan for an example. In the 1950s, there were only twenty percent of students got accepted by colleges, which was the requirement of being a junior high school teacher. Consequently, if someone could be a high school teacher at that time, he or she was sure to be outstanding since he or she outperformed eighty percent of students. However, nowadays, there is a nearly hundred percent of college acceptance rate in Taiwan since there are too many universities but a decreasing amount of students, making almost every student with a college degree. In this case, almost every student in Taiwan meets the requirement of a junior high school teacher, making the scarcity of teachers no longer exist. Therefore, the society would only consider teachers as a normal career and won't give special appreciation to teachers as they used to.

In a conclusion, based on the two reasons above, I strongly agree with the statement that teachers nowadays are not that appreciated and valued by the society comparing to the past.