Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Choosing courses is an essential task for college students, since the courses they take will decide what kind of knowledge they can learn from universities, and very likely to become their career focus. The policy requires every student to take various courses outside the student’s field of study. In my opinion, I strongly agree that students should take courses from diverse domains aside from their own major for three reasons.

To begin with, taking courses from different fields can equip students with professional knowledge in various domains, making students more likely to standout from the competitive career market, which strongly prefers T-shaped person than one who is only skillful in one specific field. For instance, in the era of technology, almost every company from every industry is leveraging technology to make innovation so as to be irreplaceable and make more revenues. However, in order to reach that target, companies would need people who can not only understand technology but also their domain knowledge to carry out the transformation. Take financial industry as an example. If a bank wants to hire a person to develop their digital banking and launch a new mobile banking application with the most innovative functions so as to attract young-aged customers, the bank will definitely require this person with a technological background. However, it is not enough for the ideal candidate to understand and be skillful only in the technology field. Without knowledge in financial industry, he would not be able to judge if his plan is doable according to local financial regulation or if it is beneficial from a revenue management side. Whereas, if this person has taken some financial courses in universities, he would be prepared with knowledge of financial management and financial laws. In this way, he would be more competent for the role. Consequently, the example well demonstrates the importance of taking course outside students’ field of study.

Further, sometimes students are forced to choose their major at the moment when they are actually not so sure about what they really want to go for in the future. In this case, taking courses from not only their major field can give students more opportunities to keep searching for where their passion is. For instance, if a student had no idea what she wanted to do in her junior year and chose computer science as a major considering the job availability, but because her university required her to take course outside computer science, she then took a literature course, and surprisingly fell in love in the world of literature, and eventually becomes a writer. We can tell from the example that taking courses aside from students’ major fields can grant students precious chances to broaden their horizons and increase the possibilities to find what they truly love.

Some may argue that students should be as much proficient in their major as they can be so that they can top their field of study in universities or after graduation. However, as mentioned above, in this fast changing world, it will be far than enough for students to be proficient in only a specific field. If the field of students’ major study unexpectedly becomes outdated some day in the future, students who know only one domain knowledge are doomed to fall together with their major study. However, if students have learned more in universities, they can still survive with their T-shaped skillsets. Therefore, I strongly agree with the policy that students should take a variety of courses outside their own field of study.