Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

In this modern era, we are observing some crucial changes between our lives and our ancestors. One of the most common changes is the role of the teachers in the society. Some people believe that teachers are currently less appreciated and valued than the past; however, some people have the opposite idea. Personally speaking, I firmly believe with the former viewpoint for some reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, in last, teachers were the only parts of the society who had advanced knowledge, and people always used them to fill their information voids. But, nowadays, people (especially young students) can learn their lessons in different ways, particularly with the advantage of the Internet. In this regard, teachers currently have not a unique role in the community. For instance, two years ago, when I was a freshman student in university, I had a problem with one of Newton’s laws in my physics class, and to solve this problem, I explored the Internet and watched a related video in the popular website, YouTube. In the video, a senior student clarified this relatively hard topic in the easiest way, and after that, I have always been master in physics class based on my high grades that I got. This can be inferred that I solved the problem without the help of my teachers. For the reason that I mentioned earlier, I totally believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past.

Another equally important reason is that, in last, teachers’ income was relatively above average in the society, but, currently, governments do not financially support them like what they did in the past. This lack of support from the government and society shows that the value of the teachers has decreased day after day. My own experience is convincing evidence of this. My grandfather and my father were both teachers from two different generations. Whenever I look at their personal lives, I see vast differences, especially in the quality caused by economic effects. My grandfather’s revenue was relatively good, and he always used to go abroad on vacations and saved a considerable amount of money each year. In contrast, my father barely pays his bills despite that he is a more professional teacher than his father. This enormous difference shows that the teachers’ role in the community does not count like what was did in the past.

In conclusion, I believe that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past. Not only did they the only role in the community who had academic and advanced knowledge, but they were also more financially supported by the government.