According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument the author is discussing about the honor code system to cut the cheating in exams. Groveton College found that due to adopting honor code system after five years only fourteen cases reported of cheating. They find the results of honor code so that they recommend-ate honor code system to all colleges and universities. I am not agreeing with the Groveton College on honor code system. There is some questions rise in my mind on honor code system.

Furthermore, the honor code system is a promise to not cheat in exams. The students promise with the teacher to not cheat in the exam but we cannot rely on them because it is only a statement. Weather a student obeys the promise or breaks it we cannot predict. Generally teachers take promise from students to attempt question paper without cheating but students take advantage of situation and copied answers from their friends answer sheet. So honor code is not much useful for when of cheating in college. It may be possible there are other factors which reduces the cheating cases in Groveton College.

Additionally, the reliability of the honor code system is questionable because it is not a scientific method and it just depends on person’s honesty. Groveton College did not explain about the reliability of the honor code system so it may be not useful in other colleges or may be less effective. It may plausible that in Groveton College most of students are intelligent and honest so that they found fall in number of cheating in exam.

However, the cheating cases fall down but still there are 14 cases reported. It may be possible that the students of Groveton College are honest. They show only reported data but it may be possible there are cases that are not reported. Under honor code College expected from the students to report the name of others who cheat in exam but it is also depend on honesty of the student. The honor code system will be fruitful if we check honesty of the staff as well as of students.

Finally, the honor code system need scientific research before implementation in all colleges and universities. The system should have reliability, validity as well as standardization to spread benefits on large-scale.