According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument recommends that for the decrement of the cheating numbers in all colleges and universities, they should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton. However, this claim reveals examples of leap of faith and fails to mention several factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Hence, the argument is unconvincing.

First of all, the case contrasts the quantity of cheating reports by the teachers and the students. Based on this contrast, in the case which the teachers make the observation, the number of the cheating was more than the quantity of cheating by the replacement of the honor code. However, this assertion is skeptical, and some questions are unanswered. For instance, did the students are honest about their reports? Maybe, they saw their friends were cheating; yet, did not eager to report them. As a result, for the sake of this reluctant, the number of the cheating report has been declined. The argument would have been fortified if it lucidly explicated that the observation of two conditions was identical, and they students reported faithfully.

Next, the author assumes that the efficacy of the honor code is unavoidable since based on a survey; the students claimed that they are less unlikely to cheat by the honor code. In fact, there is a list of the suspicious questions about the condition of this survey. For instance, who many students participated in the study? Or what questions were asked? Perhaps the number of case studies in this survey was insufficient, which in this condition the expanding its outcomes to the other schools are abortive since the scoop of the case study did not render the actual position. Or maybe the questions were solely focused on the honor codes, and they were not asked information about the previous method of observation.

Finally, the writer posits that the honor code would be effective in whole schools. The chief reason this assumption is that the author believes whole schools are identical in entire aspects. On the contrast, it is vague and holistic surmise. The argument would have been a lot more convincing if it addressed the questions related to the schedules and examination methods of all schools. Maybe, the training method of one school was practical; in this case, the test would have been based upon the pragmatic tests. Or one school examines the students orally. Either scenario would provide an alternative explanation for this condition, which the honor code would have been ineffective.

As a result, the argument is flawed for the reasons above-mentioned and is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly answered the question about the observation's validity, the accuracy of the survey and the similarity of whole schools. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debates.