According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise.

However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor

code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify

a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a

system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported

an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place,

students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to

fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would

be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and

universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating

among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based

are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument caviled that because a number of successes has been reported on Groveton’s adoption of a newing techniques that wanes cheating, this method should be implemented in other institutions. While this might help ebb cheating in other universities, the argument does not provide sufficient evidence to support this; lack of explanation to alternative causes, questionable assumption, and the use of vague terms all serves to vitiate the altercation’s conclusion.

The author’s citation of the means’ success in the first five-year period has failed to take into consideration, other causes that could have led to the decrease in students cheating. We do not know if the method was tested on the same set of students that was previously monitored by teachers. Or perhaps this novel technique was tested on new intakes. Other factors that could have also led to decrease in cheating include supplanting of chump teachers, amelioration of heuristic style, and alteration of teaching curriculum. All these could have led to students gaining more comprehension of the subjects. Hence, leading to decline in cheating.

Apart from the author failing to consider other factors that could lead to decrease in cheating, the assumption that the new style would work for other schools also undermines the author’s conclusion. There was no evidence to show that other schools do not already possess techniques that are more efficacious than this. Additionally, some factors might have allowed this new method to work for Groveton University. Factors such as cooperation among students and unity between student and school superintendents. This factors might not be present in other schools. Thus, thwarting the success of this method when implemented in other schools.

However, to validate this argument, the author needs to answer the following questions: what are other possible factors that led to the decrease in cheating rate? Were this factors that led to this decreases present in previous years? Was there any change in the teaching method, characteristics of student or teaching curriculum that could have led to decrease in cheating? Additionally, is the method feasible in other universities? Do they have other meethods that could be better than this? Are there factors that would impede the success of this new style in other institutions? Without answers to these questions, the conclusion will surely be invalid.

In summary, the author of the argument contended that because a new style of reducing cheating worked for Groveton University, the method should be adopted in other schools. While this might seem to be of benefit to other universities, the author’s argument was based on unjustifiable assumption, negletion of other possible factors, and use of vague terms which all saps the author’s conclusion. Therefore, it is recommended that the author provide answers to all underlying questions for this argument to maintain its validity.