The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of

Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat

headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades,

food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study.

Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor

additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady

decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author stated that the study of Salicylates, which was conducted over a vicennial period, is sufficient to conclude that the use of this substance will lead to decline in number of headaches experienced by the denizens of Mentia. While this claim might be true, the conclusion is erroneous. This is because the author based his/her argument on illogical reasoning, questionable assumption, and absence of quantification.

To begin, while citing the use of Salicylates as preservatives, the author concluded that this substance has led to gradual decrease in the rate of headaches reported. The author failed to consider alternative explanation to this decline. Perhaps the people who used these drugs also took some elixirs that might have abet the lessening of headaches. It might even be that the headaches reported are as a result of stress. Hence, once the person rest after taking Salicylates, the headache vanishes. To strengthen this argument, the author would need to show other circumstances that could have led to the waning of headache. Without this, it will be erroneous to conclude that Salicylates lessen headaches.

Additionally, the author cited a study without considering some cogents facts that are necessary to validate this study. This author assumed that the study, which was conducted over a twenty-year period, is flawless. However, the author failed to show how the study was conducted. Also, was the study conducted in Mentia or foreign city? If it was in Mentia, how many people participated in the study? If it is a small group, which is adopted to represent the whole citizens of Mentia, then the conclusion is flawed. To ameliorate this argument, the author needs to show if the study was truly sincerely conducted.

Furthermore, while referencing that Salicylates leads to steady wane of headache, the author assumes the use of Salicylates as additive will lead to further decline in headache. The upshot might be the other way round. Additional use of Salicylates might probably lead to the advent of other diseases. Obviously, excessive intake of substances do have detrimental effect. Increase the use of Salicylates might even be perilous. Nothing in the argument states that this safe. Thus, it would be parlous for Salicylates to be further used as additive without any investigation on its outcome.

In summary, the author cited that the use of Salicylates has led to decrease in headache. Therefore, this product should be further used additives. While this might sound like a good conclusion, the bases upon which this synopsis depends is largely flawed. Without the author considering the stated evidence, the argument would remain illogical.