The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin a medicine used to treat headaches Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates for t

The author concludes here that with the use of salicylates the number of people suffering from headaches would be decreased. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it can be evaluated. To support the argument the author needs to clarify the following three factors. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the number of participants of their study represents the total population of Mentia. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the population of Mentia may be one million but only one hundred people participated in their survey. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the percentage of the people rather than the number of people.

The author claims that the average citizen experiencing headaches consume the foods that are rich in salicylates. This again is a weak or unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between consumption of food and the food being enriched with salicylates. For instance, the people who didn’t reported any headaches might take food with salicylates but they might be unable to report their problems. So, it might be the case that all citizens containing headaches didn’t necessarily report. If the argument could have provided any evidence against it then it would have been convincing to the reader.

Additionally, there is no proof provided that the new found information of the usage of salicylates as a preservative had been implied. From this information, the author’s claims can’t be established. Careful scrutiny of the evidence raises several skeptical questions. Without convincing answers to these questions the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s claim is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by a detailed analysis. Finally, to better evaluate the argument it would be necessary to know more information. Without explaining the aforementioned factors, the argument loses it’s credibility.