According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure has dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

In this argument, the author suggests that though cheating among colleges and universities is on the rise, it can be controlled through specific means. He provides support to suggest that his recommendation is valid, such as by giving an example of Groveton College and its adoption of honor code. Although the claims made by author sound convincing, because of inadequate evidences, unwarranted assumptions and vague terminologies, the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author has claimed on a basis of report that cheating among colleges and universities is on rise. Here the question arises about the report. Was the report made many years ago? In that, it won’t be applicable in today’s scenario. Also is the report made for the specific area or region that the author is talking about? Maybe it could be possible that the report is made for Indian colleges and universities and its results are being applied to US colleges. The data of the report needs to be examined fully.

Secondly, author has claimed that by adopting an honor code, Groveton College is successful in reducing cheating numbers. He provides the support for this claim by showing the decrease of cheating in five years. But during the fall of cases in cheating, was the average number of students appearing for the exam almost equal? Maybe it could happen that admissions of Groveton college has declined over 5 years and thus the number of cheating cases has also declined.

The author has also supported his claim by adding that a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place. But are the students speaking truth? They could be accepting that they won’t cheat but it can be just to make the faculties unaware or they would be afraid that by admitting to cheat, they could easily be under observations of the faculties.

Thus, there are a lot of questions that need to be answered before deciding whether this recommendation made by the author is reasonable. These are some pragmatic questions and by answering them, surely the suggestion made by author will get a look of truth and genuineness.