“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

This argument is taken from the memo by an advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. According to the argument, the number of viewers of Super Screen-produced movies has decreased and at the same time, the positive reviews about the movies saw a significant increase. So, the author assumes that the diminution in the number of viewers is due to lack of advertising and further concludes that Super Screen should allocate a greater percentage of their budget to movie advertising. However, the conclusion is derived from the assumptions for which there is no clear evidence, and hence, the argument is flawed and unconvincing.

Firstly, the author claims that fewer viewers watched Super Screen-produced movies. For this, author blames the insufficient advertising of movies. However, author has not explained what really caused the number of viewers to drop. There could be number of factors which were involved. First, the subject of the movie may no be very touching that can drive the people to make it watch. Also, it could be due to high prices of tickets during that time which attracted less people. The argument could have been strengthened if the author mentioned the clear causes of the reduction in the number of viewers.

Furthermore, the author mentions that percentage of positive reviews about he movies by movie reviewers increased during the same period. This again, sounds unconvincing without a substantive evidence. The author does not mention who the movie reviewers were. Were it the people who watched the movies? Were the reviews were from professional movie critics? These questions need to be answered to support the authors claim. A strong evidence which can indicate the source of the reviews will certainly help to strengthened the argument.

Finally, the author concludes that if more budget is allocated for movie advertising, it will help reaching people which subsequently increase the number of movie-goers. It is quite possible that advertising strongly can help to increase the number of viewers, yet it not supported by any proof that allocating more budget to advertising will produce the same result in case of Super Screen movies. The possible cause could be different as mentioned in previous paragraphs. So a research report indicating that advertising is really necessary for Super Screen Company to sour the number of viewers will fortify the argument.

In summary, the argument is flawed and unconvincing to the reader without substantive evidences to support the claims of the author. It is necessary to have full knowledge of all the underlying key factors to asses the argument.