Analyze an Argument Task #1

The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Peter Jones. “In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones plans to build a multi-million-dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Peter Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Traffic congestion is a menace to any town that is vying for productivity and increased economic activity. Traffic congestion, put simply, slows down the economy; it slows down the town. That being said, in order to relieve Briggsville's notorious traffic congestion, building a multi-million dollar subway system is not the only solution, and is by no means, the only solution. The argument itself is too presumption, and the assumptions, dubiously flawed.

For one, Briggsville is a town, and not a city. The Mayor has based his or her idea on the assumption that the town is city-like, which it clearly is not. The Mayor may be trying to mimic the neighbouring city's ideas and ways of managing traffic congestion. Subways, particularly that which costs multi-million dollars to build are always part of a metropolitan city. In such cities, the economy is already thriving way beyond the stipulated average, and a subway simply adds as an incentive. Metropolitan cities general billions of dollars in revenue, and as such, they are in a position to spend proportionately to solve certain problems as well as for the glitz and glamour. On the other hand, a town could never generate such revenue. It's economic scope is limited. Being so, the Mayor should make his or her decisions in an astute manner.

Thinking astutely, the Mayor should think of cost-effective and cost-efficient solutions. The Mayor must get the town's priorities straight. Has the mayor thought of instating additional buses? The Mayor, again, incorrectly assumes that buses themselves could never solve the underlying problem. Manufacturing newer buses as well as refurbishing the older ones are immensely cheaper than investing in the multi-million dollar subway system. This initiative, too, would generate employment.

Furthermore, concerning the lack of safety, the Mayor assumes that a subway system would solve the problem. Picking up a metropolitan city newspaper would definitely prove otherwise. There are countless cases of robbery, assault, and the occassional kidnap or murder in subways. So, the problem is widespread regardless of mode of transport. Therefore, the Mayor should summon a task force to solve the safety problems occurring in buses. He or she could instate a separate helpline for the bus drivers to invoke an emergency call should something untoward happen. The citizens of Briggsville must be advised accordingly how to deal with such thuggery and support their fellow citizens. Also, modern technology allows safety even on a human being using various wearable gadets, and let's not forget the smartphone.

Next, comes the case of the 24/7 transport and lack of transport during the day. The Mayor again assumes that only subways could solve this problem.

The case remains that buses could accomplish the same, and even more, they could do it at a fraction of the subway operation costs. The Mayor should increase the number of buses during peak hours to deal with the increased congestion during the day. During the night, the Mayor could formulate the statistics with regard to the expected journey timings of the public. He or she could arrange the buses accordingly, but with lesser frequency.

Finally, with regards to the motorists filling up the main road, the Mayor could create awareness programmes. A lot of vehicles generate too much pollution. This pollution, in time, would degrade the beauty that is Briggville. The Mayor should encourage the public to avoid private vehicles as much as possible, and switch to public transport. That is one way how congestion could be decreased. The other is generating health awareness, and why it is better to travel peripatetically than on a two or four-wheeler.

All these above ideas would do the following: decrease congestion, decrease pollution, increase health awareness and the overall health, reduce the multi-million dollar costs, increase public safety, and also, generate employment. Indirectly, as an expected consequence, a de-congested road would imply free-flowing of traffic, and thereby, the economy. Briggsville would thrive even more, and this time, cost-effectively.