Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, we are informed that the purported decline of deer population arises from the interruption of their age-old migration patterns, because of the increasing temperature. To support his/her claim, the author cites local hunter's estimation about diminishing situation of deer population. Furthermore, it is also mentioned that global warming trends have caused severe impacts on deer's incorrigible migration pattern. Quite convincing though such statement appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports. Therefore, we need to consider more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To start off, we need more evidence to verify if local hunter's report could be trusted. While local hunters evince the population decline in their observation, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that such observation is reliable reflection for population situation in and around this district. Thus, additional evidence could gain great significance to determine whether deer population exactly shows the decline trends from other observers, such as villagers, animal researchers, even tourists for this district. If all of diverse evidence shows that the decline of deer population is restricted with only partial district, it is safety to claim that hunter's conclusion about decline is incorrect and the author's reasoning will be weakened. On the contrary, if new information discloses the opposite situation, the author's reasoning will be strengthened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether global warming trend actually exert great impact for deer's inveterate living and migration patters. First of all, while the conclusion that sea ice melting lead to living pattern has been interrupted seems promising, a further analysis for the impact of live pattern could lend more credibility to the evaluation of the author's aforementioned statement. If the increasing temperature gives a good opportunity for plant to grow out and deer could feed on them without starvation, the severe impact out of weather will be in great doubt and the author's statement will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we do not know the reason how about the warmer temperate lead to the extent of snow melting. If it turns out that it just cause partial snow's decreasing and deer could also move freely between island, we are unconvinced of such global warming could interrupt deer's traversing between island.

Finally, despite the presence of all previous evidence, a more accurate evaluation of the author's statement requires more information. Specific evidence is needed to decide whether changes of deer's migration and living pattern could heavily impact their population; that is to say, in case the migration pattern has been interrupted by either destruction of ice bridge or lack of plant resource from islands, which could lead to deer's starvation even abnormal death. If the answers is positive, the author's conclusion will be strengthened; On the contrary, if deer could live freely despite living pressure and changes of migration pattern, we are reluctant to believe that such situation could lead to deer population's decline.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the passage could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her conclusion convincing. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate such conclusion.