The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this passage, the author cites the wider usage of salicylates in Mentia and predicts further decline in the number of headaches in this region. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's reasoning of the argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's conclusion.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the assumption that salicylates would have similar treatment effect as aspirin because of their similarity of chemical family. Based on the assumption the author therefore proposes that spreading of salicylates use could result in less headaches. However, such assumption is potentially problematic because the same chemical family mightn't be the dominant factors for treatment effect of salicylates. Nor do we know whether there exists several important distinctions between salicylates and aspirin in terms of chemical composition. Moreover, we have no idea about such variance in structures could impede with medical for curing headache. If it turns out that salicylates have different chemical structures compared with aspirin and such variances in structure determine its therapeutic effect, the author's proposition about salicylates's effectiveness is untenable.

Given that salicylates could be beneficial for treatment of headache, by stating that its rise in commercial usage could lead to decline of headache in Mentia, the author rules out other possibilities which could rival with the one alleged in the argument. However, we need to re-examine the assumption that food preservatives containing salicylates could actually be eaten by citizens and therefore contribute to their recovery or immunity for headache in advance. It is likely that people could seldom touch with salicylates in food preservatives during daily life, which make salicylates have nothing to do with people's health. Also, it is of equal probability that how much salicylates have been made out as flavor additives for foods and whether such products could be used in citizens' life. Moreover, we should also ask whether decline of headaches in referenced twenty-year study are actually out of citizens' personal exercises rather than their usage of salicylates products. If any of the aforementioned assumptions prove warranted, we are inclined to believe that rise of the commercial functionality of salicylates helps citizens increase their healthy status and gives rise to the dwindling of headaches.

Last but not least, while all of the assumptions mentioned above prove warranted, the author's recommendation is still unnecessary due to the efficiency of the statement concerning continual decline of headaches due to new use of salicylates. Claiming that prefigured continual drop of headaches coinciding with new salicylates use, the author seems too optimistic. It is unreasonable to assume that there will be no significant factors, which could greatly impact headache occurrence among citizens. Also, the author hastily comes to the conclusion that overall ameliorated status of citizens of Mentia in the future, but does not discuss whether citizens will suffer unexpected pressure that deteriorate their defense against headaches. If severe pandemics more likely resulting in headaches will outbrust in Mentia or citizens lead a sybarite daily life that further worsen their heathy status, then further decline of headaches in Mentia is still tenuous.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily depends on the validity of the aforementioned assumptions. If those assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's recommendation could become little more than his/her wishful thinking and therefore we should consider whether or not the situation related with number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia will get improved in the future.