If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Should we take any means to attain a justifiable goal, when it is worthy? From my perspective of view, it is reasonable for us to pursue with worthwhile goal despite tremendous effort behind. However, this doesn’t mean that we should blindly neglect concomitant negative effects of our relevant approaches. It is also worth to point out that deliberations for balancing between cost and gain as well as how to eliminate effectively side effect has to be scheduled in advance.

To start off, if we want to reach our reasonable targets either in life or at work, it is inevitable for us to spend efforts to realize them, because of relevant benefits and accumulated experiences. Normally, when talking about justifiable goal, we refer to certain purposes, which could bring about our positive influences, such as improved skills or unprecedented knowledge. From individual view, it is only through strenuous effort that we could grasp new knowledge and elevate our comprehension or ability into another advanced level. For example, despite suffering journey of GRE, a spate of students embracing with American dream still confronted with such challenges, as an idealistic GRE score could not only help them achieve their goal of learning in dream university, but also obtain a precious life experience aboard. On another hand, society also relies on such process to drive itself moving forward. Roosevelt’s New Deal Policy well exemplified my point. Undertaking highest priority of salvaging U.S. from the great depression, Roosevelt and American people have no hesitation to adapt governmental regulation and temporarily set aside market economy, because they understood how terrible ramification would be if American had been trapped with crisis in long time.

Furthermore, as getting accustomed to prioritizing our justifiable goals, we simultaneously suffered from a stereotypical assumption that any negative confluences accompanied by our means could be acquiesced. Unfortunately, such assumption could invoke irreparable negative impacts for us on either societal or individual level. Because as committed with certain target, people would be inclined to focus on it per so and sacrifice other equivalently important factors. A battery of cases serve for my point. Consider a factory whose owner tries to promote employee’s welfare despite limited budgets. A conspicuous decision would be to cut off unnecessary costs and reserve the only essential budge for production and sales for grasping more profit, which in turn convert to employee’s welfare. However, if it yield deleterious byproducts during production and budgets of purification devices also be eliminated, we can easily predict that social environment could be heavily vitiated. Therefore, to chase with certain target without considering relevant harms might establish a negative paradigm for society and threat both society and individual in the long run.

Last but not least, when it comes to how to choose a reasonable goal and eliminate side effect at the same time, this issue becomes more complex and needs thorough contemplation. First of all, before devoting to certain goal, it is necessary to raise question whether cost with achieving such goal could outshine gains and if it is still worth to do so under the worse circumstance. That is to say, both imminent benefits and gains in future should be considered at the same time. If and only if accumulated benefits dwarf costs accordingly, we can regard such goal as justifiable and put into our future calendar. On another hand, even if it is ineluctable to engender certain negative results, assuming germane remedy in time should be applied to eliminate them, in order for people to misconstrue our original goal. In another word, scarifications or immoral behaviors that we take shouldn’t be advocated in majority case, and it is because of extreme case that we resorted to them. A military decision in war is a perfect case in point. Even if a general knew that certain troop might be sent out to defend one city with high probabilities of scarification, he still had to do so, considering geometrical significance of the city in the war. However, a spate of resources should be deployed to avoid its huge causality for sake of avoiding the worst case.

In summary, it is beneficial for us to make endeavor for certain wholesome goal during our life. However, as discussed before, it is evident that sometimes deleterious ramifications could stem from our approach which pave the way to our goal. Therefore, even if we can tentatively start our endeavor audaciously, leaving concerns aside temporarily, a more thorough contemplation for different factors is still worthwhile in advance.