Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Different leaders show different methods of leadership: some by charisma, some by being kind, or some by force. Nevertheless, the maintenance of repsect is one aspect of leaders that is hard to omit. Although a successful leader should be able to maintain support from their colleagues, a lack of ethics may lead to irreveration which is undesirable. Moreover, to be a effective leader, one should be able to maintain homage from the public in general.

Admittedly, a representative requires the support and deference of their intimates to be effective. Especially in the democratic society where no single power can decide on a legislation, maintaining propitious relationships within the coterie is important. Representatives who lose feality will not be able to implement the policies that one believes because there would be nobody to back him up: President Park Kun Hye in Korea is a stricking example. Once she became the president, her incompetence was shocking to a limit that even her own forces turned their back on her: she wasn't able to pass a single legislation before her impeachment. Hence, the ability to keep a steadfast reputation is important for leaders.

Nevertheless, overlooking coherent ethical judgements could also lead to a loss of deference. Respect is initiated or deteriorated from many sources of influence and the inability to make moral decisions is certainly a factor that can debilitate others respect. For instance, although Hitler was able to maintain his faction by his charisma, his apathetic attitude towards ethics were cruel, leading him to lose his power in his final years. Had he been a more kind leader, he could not have faced a tragical ending, rather even if his politics failed he could have been saved by his peers.

Furthermore, support from only the intimates is not enough for a effective leadership. In a democratic society, a leader is obligated to represent the opinions and notions of the public, and a dissent towards the leader clearly indicates the incompetence of the representative. On the other hand, a effective leader would be held high by the public. For instance, Obama showed great leadership and was repsected by the citizens of the USA. People's support and reverence towards him showed that his policies were effective and helped to advance the people's well being.

In conclusion, although a authority figure should be respected by their close groups, lack of morals will be a influential factor in deciding his respect. In addition, not only respect from the party is important, but obtaining and maintaining citizen's respect would be more important.