Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Government research encounter high expectation because of the foundation of those fundings. Nevertheless, it would be incoherent to support research with promising results since contemporary science and technology are so advanced that nothing will ensure good results. Furthermore, the utilization of a technology may take time from the discovery.

Admittedly, government research projects are subsidized by taxes and the public will be infuriated if their money is being used on preposterous findings. Moreover, the government's obligation to support their people's amenities and a good living could be met by pertinent investigation in promising disciplines such as pharmaceuticals. For instance, governments worldwide are providing financial support to biological and chemical institutions to facilitate discoveries of potential drugs: the NHU in Korea for example is given 10million dollars every year to find a cure for liver cancer. Consequently, the government by helping industries that seem to give myopic returns, will be able to help their citizens.

On the other hand, science today has been developed to a extent that no such discipline promises a good return. As studies get profound and intricate, not even the most prominent minds of the time can expect the outcomes of a experiment, which by the way, is infeasible without financial support. Therefore, to discriminate between areas that seem auspicious, and ominous is itself contradictory: even the biological departments are confounded by result that subvert their knowledge. Consequently, if the government has excess budgets to expense on science and technology, they should do it regardless of the expected results because any experiment will be a lottery.

Furthermore, a finding that seems useless can prove to be ever more helpful in the future. Einstein's special relativity for example, which predicted the exchange of mass and energy raise countless skepticism and was even considered as chicanery. However, after time passed we are all benefiting from his theory by atomic generators. Similarly the development of electric cars by the GM and Edison corporation was flout by the public around the world. However, their replacement of traditional cars seem imminent due to the sustainability it can bring to the quickly deteriorating environment. Hence, a true value of a innovation may take time to recognize.

In conclusion, although the public may be sensitive to funding seemingly irrelevant devices, the government should sometimes invest on those speculative parts of the industry because of the potential it may possess.