Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The development of scientific research and the scientific method has been an important advancement in social and biological sciences. This has lead to the discovery of many medications and theories of mind which are important for the lives of people around the globe. Government funding is therefore important in order to address these types of issues. However, funding scientific research when the consequences are unclear is unethical.

First, it is important to know what effects your research will have on the lives of people involved. For example, when studying a drug on depression, it is vital to understand first the consequences it will have in whoever is testing the drug, whether it be animal subjects or human subjects. It is unethical to give people a drug that scientists are unaware of the consequences to a patient. Second, if and when this drug or scientific advancement is approved to make an appearance to the public, the unknown consequences can be detrimental to the health and well-being of the people who interact or use the specific scientific advancement.

It is important for the government to consider what scientific research is truly important and which research is unnecessary. Health and mental health research should be the priority when choosing to fund research. Without adequate health the human race will surely start deteriorating. This kind of research should take place over research involving space or computer technology, for example. While it is important to study and explore these subjects, it should not be in the top priorities for funding.

Before the code of ethics was implemented into scientific research, there has certainly been scientific research with unknown consequences that has yielded important findings. For example, the Stanford prison project allowed researchers to study behavior, particularly obedience, compliance and power on human subjects. Dr. Zimbardo, director of the study, stopped the experiment earlier than expected because he saw the subjects distressed. These consequences were unknown to Zimbardo. He didn’t even see the distress himself, others had to tell him to stop the experiment. While this study is widely known and taught among psychology courses and is useful in understanding the power that an individual can have over another individual who is made to believe is less than, it caused severe psychological distress in the people involved and might have caused long lasting effects. Therefore, it is important to know of consequences your research can have before starting for the sake of the people involved like the participants.

Scientific research is an important tool in the advancement of human health. It has had the power to cure diseases; however, knowing the cost and benefits of scientific research is imperative for the safety of others as well as helps the government weed out projects of less importance and focus on well established research projects that will benefit humans without possible harm.