Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The contention to not provide funding for experiments whose consequences are unknown is not a trivial one. It is not uncommon for governments to reject issuing funds for a scientific research experiment without clear presentation of its consequences. The prompt suggests that for any scientific research with unknown consequences, government must reject funding it. In my opinion, I somewhat agree for two reasons.

To begin, with every scientific research comes consequences. However, the intensity of positive and negative effects may vary from one to another. Thus, it is important for the government to acknowledge such consequences before deciding to fund any experiment. For instance, a scientific research experiment about a cancer medication need to be thoroughly revised and all possible effects whether negative or positive must be addressed before funding the experiment. It is possible that such experiment has more negative effects on patients than positive and thus, the government sees no good in funding it.

Further, some scientific experiments’ consequences may be unclear until it is in action. For instance, a scientific experiment about the activity of human brain when someone is to think about their own personal death versus when they think of others cannot be clear until such experiment is performed. Therefore, not funding any scientific research experiment if the consequences are unclear may limit the improvement in science in the future.

In conclusion, depending on the kind of scientific experiment, some measures should be taken into account. Since not all research consequences are known before the research is in action, not funding any research with unknown consequences may be a limitation in the progression of science in the future.