Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Research is the most important aspect to know about anything. Scientific research helps in understanding the facts that are not known. Today if we were able to predict tsunamis, rainfall, temperature any natural calamities etc, is only because of the results of the scientific research. The prompt says that until the consequences are known, government should not fund any scientific research. I disagree with the statement for three reasons.

Research means investigating about the new things. If scientific research is not done it is difficult to survive in the present generation. Edision failed many times before inventing the bulb. If he was not funded then we couldn't have seen the light today. We know that sending a space ship into the universe takes a lot of funding but if the government didn't fund for the scientific research we couldn't land on the moon. Today whatever we are- only because of Scientific research.

In the field of medical, research is an important thing to cure any disease, find medicine etc. Sometimes we might fail but the research helps us in overcoming the flaws or mistakes. Today many operations are performed by robots with absolute precision and success rate. Additionally, new inventions are done from the previous inventions. In most of the cases we might not know the consequences but however if we stop research we can't success. The more research is done the more accurate results are obtained.

Scientific research plays an important role in the feild of communication.Today we are using internet, cellphones,gps, bluetooth etc. All these were invented by Tremendous amount of scientific research and funding. Any scientific research helps in making our lives simple. Although there might be little side effects but we need to consider a lot of advantages.

However few people argue that scientific research leads to many side effects and funding for such type of research is a bad idea. We need to remember that if we stop researching after inventing an aeroplane we could not have improved so much in the field of space and aeronautics. Similarly, if we stopped researching after finding a penciline we could not have advanced so much in the medical field. Hence the government should fund enough for any kind of scientific research.