Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline;
students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree
with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position,
you should consider ways in which the statement
might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
College can be a time of great exploration where one can find their interests and pursue a career.In the United Sates, college is also considered a gateway to a
good-paying job and a decent livelihood. Colleges exist to teach people on a specific topic. However one cannot simply be motivated to learn by attending college classes.
There are more factors that contribute to person's desire to learn.
There are people who enter colleges without the knowledge of what they want to study. When one exits high school at the age of eighteen, some do not know all the available career options
they can atain. Upon entering college, they are forced to select random classes in order to fulfill graduation requirements and some pick the ones that sound easy just so they can be
sure they will pass the class. For example, students that have taken a spanish course or spanish is their native language will choose spanish as a course elective
because they know they will do well in the class. However, a degree in spanish may not be what these students wish to pursue and therfore will not be motivated to learn.
One needs discipline and knowledge of what degree they want to pursue in order for learning to occur.
To have personal discipline means that one has to be able to deny themselves some freedom in order to learn. When pursuing a degree in college, this may happen.
Sometime one has to choose whether they should go out with friends to see a movie the night before an important exam testing their knowledge or the night before a class
discussion is scheduled.This student then will deny themselves the pleasure of taking the night off to socialize with friends.
Of course learning does not require the absolute denial of pleasurebut some sacrifices are required.
It is true that colleges in ways can help motivate students to learn. There are resources that that assist in helping students with essays and projects. However,
a certain amount of discipline is still required to use these resources.If a student does not care much about the topic of the course, they will not care about whether
they have good writing skills. One can not simply learn how to write a cohesive essay on their own. They ussually need guidance from others. Asking for guidance from an experienced
professional requires self discpline.
Being a college student and pursuing a degree requires much learning. In order to learn about a specific topic, one needs to discpline themselves. This discpline occurs by having a
strong sense of your goals and aspirations and denying yourself of activities that will not help you learn knew material. Colleges can be a motivation for certain individuals
but without the drive and desire to learn, students will not get very far in their prifessional lives