The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Parenting methods are crucial in the formation of a child's characteristics. If parents are too strict the child may become diffident and timid. On the other hand, if parents are easygoing and try to praise their children when by present propitious actions, while being lenient to negative actions, it may spoil the child.

Admittedly, it is import to praise children when they present positive behavior such as cleaning the room, or doing their chores. As the Korean saying "praises even make the whale to dance", complementing children will raise their confidence and self-esteem. For instance, in the Chosun Dynasty, there was a king named Se-Jong and his parents very frequently complemented his intellectual abilities. This led to confidence of Se-Jong and it further encouraged him to participate in his studies. In the end, he became the most successful king in the dynasty for creating the Korean Characters. Hence, it is evident that praising youth has a lucrative effect on them and their future.

In addition, derogatory comments toward negative behaviors may deteriorate the good relationships between the parents and their offspring. In a study conducted by Seoul National University towards Korean parents who are responsible for children with ages 5 ~ 8, it discovered that harsh criticism towards mistakes will result in the children's fear towards their parents. Since the kids fear their children, they will not be able to act freely and will become diffident or extremely shy in social situations. These children will not be able to socialize naturally compared to the children whose bad deeds are gently admonished or sometimes ignored.

Nevertheless, being apathetic towards a child's misbehavior will eventually spoil the child. The child will never be able to change his behavior and thus will not develop to become a mature person. Also, if the adolescence portrays those negative behaviors to catch attention, there is possibility that the behavior will get worse when not scolded the first time. There is a famous Korean anecdote where a baby hit his parents for fun. At first, the parents just laughed and ignored the misbehavior, but as time passed and the baby grew, the hitting became a habit and got painful. Finally, when they decided to reprimand their child, he hit them with so much force that they died. This story shows that having no restrictions will lead to a child to be spoiled and it would be better to change the negative behavior in the early stage before it becomes a habit.

In conclusion, even though praising to good and ignoring the bad has positive effects, it is also important to change negative behavior in a gentle way before it becomes a habit.