The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teaching is not just about imparting theoretical or bookish knowledge to students, but it is about helping them evolve as person. After parents, teachers are the ones with whom a child spend most of the time growing up and a teacher play’s a very important role in the development of a child. The prompt goes way too extreme to mention the best way to teach is by praising positive action and ignoring negative ones and needs some qualification for the following reasons.

Agreed that everyone like to be praised for their action and by praising the actions one can motivate the individual to continue to do such action. However, by only praising positive action and completely ignoring negative ones can lead to issues in future. Praising positive action and ignoring negative ones can work only when the negative actions are not harmful. Consider the scenario of a classroom where a teacher gives an opportunity to speak to the student who raised his hand seeking permission before he could speak and the teacher ignoring the student who starts to ask a question without asking for permission. By doing so, the teacher is indirectly passing a message to the students that it is important to seek permission before speaking. The student who raises hand gets the attention and the opportunity to speak. Other students can understand by observing the difference in attitude of the teacher towards the two students in question and the rest of the student will be encouraged to follow the student who got the teacher’s attention and rest of the student will raise follow the process of raising hand before speaking.

Now when we consider a scenario where the action of a student is harmful either for himself or for others and that action gets ignored by the teacher then this ignorance can be dangerous and could lead to problems in future. Example, a student of the class is caught stealing phones of his classmates. When this is brought to notice of the teacher, the teacher ignores this action of the student. If this happens then the student who is stealing the phones will not understand that stealing is not correct, and the student may over a period of time turn into a thief which will not be good for the student himself as well as for the society. Whereas if the teacher takes an action against the student and punishes him for the act of stealing the student will realize that what he did was not correct and will not do that action in future thereby a potential future issue will be stopped.

Teachers need to be the best judge to confirm when to act against a negative action and when best to ignore. As mentioned earlier if negative actions are completely ignored then it would not help the students. also, if every negative action is acted upon can also hinder the student and teacher relationship and might not serve the right purpose. A balance needs to be drawn.