Reason: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Society must have laws. When nomadic people began living together in communal groups, the need arose for rules. Individuals could not steal from the group, kill other members of the group, or be dishonest. The great religions of the world created lists of prohibited actions, calling the commission of them sins against God. Christians have the Ten commandments, and the laws in christian countries reflect the prohibitions in those commandments. Because most people respect and obey the laws, the legal system can solve most problems of modern society. When the problems of modern society are the result of people's attitudes or prejudices, laws are not effective in the short term, but evidence exists that they eventually create more just conditions for everyone. Just recently, the United States commemorated the fiftieth anniversary of Martin Luther King's I have a Dream speech during the March on Washington. This action to protest unequal treatment of minorities eventually led to president Johnson's signing the Civil Rights act. Despite this legislation, the hearts and minds of white americans, particularly in the South, remained unchanged for decades. However, a recent survey revealed that 72% of americans believe that progress has been made. The fact that voters elected a black man to serve as president of the united states is the most obvious example of that progress. The bias against women in leadership roles has changed, initially as a result of the passage of the Nineteenth amendment that allowed them to vote. decades later, laws made it possible for women to attend college at traditionally male institutions like Harvard, Yale, and military service academies. People's hearts and minds have changed sufficiently to make it acceptable for women to serve on the Supreme Court and run as vice presidential candidates. They serve as CEOs of major corporations. Most recently, some states have passed laws making it legal for same–sex couples to marry. Alternative lifestyles have become more acceptable. Laws may be unable to change what is in people's minds and hearts, but people can use what is in their minds and hearts to change laws or, even, entire governments. In the early years of America, citizens lived under English law. england treated the colonies like a cash cow; every time Britain needed to raise funds, it levied a new tax or tariff on the colonists. When the taxes and tariffs became too burdensome, the colonists eventually revolted, and, in 1776, declared their independence from england. Today, americans, like citizens in most democratic countries, have a means to change the laws. The representatives and senators –also referred to as lawmakers– on both the state and national level create new laws or amend old ones to reflect the needs and desires of their constituents. Laws have been changed to reflect what people think and feel. Not so long ago, it was against the law for people of different races to marry, but now it is common to see legally married couples who are of different races. Obtaining a divorce was virtually impossible, compelling couples to remain married long after they had stopped loving each other. Women were forced to remain in abusive marriages. Due to changes in those laws, people can follow their hearts and legally remove themselves from loveless relationships. Laws may be an effective deterrent to crime. Fear of legal consequences certainly prevents most people from acting on feelings of anger or revenge. Would–be criminals are likely to avoid a life of crime if they know they will spend time in jail or be required to pay a hefty fine. The law may not change what is in a man's heart or mind, but it can change his course of action.