The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per the memo from the advertising director of super screen movie production company, the company should allocate greater share of its budget next year to reach the public through advertising so that the positive reviews from the movie reviewers can reach enough to the prospective viewers. Before this recommendation can be implemented it is important to get answer to below questions

Firstly, it is mentioned that percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased but it is not mentioned if the number of positive reviews has increased or not. what if the number of positive reviews has not increased and continues to be the same and that the percentage has increased because of the decrease in number of viewers. Consider an example where number of viewers is 10 and positive reviews received is 2. The percent of positive review is 20%. now the number of viewers decreases to 4 and positive reviews remain the same as 2. The percent of positive review is 50%. Even though the percentage has increased the number of reviews has not increased. if the number of reviews remain the same as last year than the suggested change will not have any impact on the increase to the viewership of the movies by super screen movie production.

Secondly, it is mentioned that the problem is not with the quality of the movie but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. it is not provided anywhere in the memo how the reviews from movie reviewers was shared with the public. what if it is found that all the reviews were published on prominent social media sites, magazines, news papers and movie review sites and still general public has not liked the movies and do not stand by the reviews shared by the movie reviewers. perhaps the individuals reviewing the movie might have liked the movie but not the general public. if the above scenario comes out to be true, then the recommendation from the advertising director will not hold water.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that more budget should be allocated in advertising next year to reach public. what if the public does not pay much attention to advertising done by the movie production company? perhaps the public understands that advertising is done in order to lure the public so that movie viewership can be increased, and that public believes more in word of mouth and do not get moved by the advertising campaign. what if it is found that last year advertising also did not have a lot of impact on the general public? if any of the above scenario is found to be true, then the recommendation by the advertising director will not have the intended result.

Finally, the argument as it stands right now is severely flawed and is based on numerous unwarranted assumptions. answers to the above questions will provide more information to evaluate the recommendation properly. Until the above listed questions are not answered the recommendation cannot be fully evaluated and executed.