The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims here that greater budget should be allocated in marketing to restore the company's audiances. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention some key points, on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support his claim, the author reasons that as the percentage of postive reviews have increased, so the quality of the move is not the problem. Rather, the problem is advertisement of the movies. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support to the author's claim. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that , the quality of the movie has not deterioted as the percentage of positive reviews have increased. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. To illustarte, what if the quality have fallen and only a few people with poor taste come to see the movies? There reviews will not represent the feeling of the whole colllection of audiences. Moreever, percentage is a vague representation of the actual number of the audiences. Hence, it would have been much more convincing if the author had explicitly stated that

Again, the auhtor points out that, advertising the positive revies will help to regain the audiences. This is again a weak and unsupported claim that does not demonstrate any clear correlation between exploitation of reviews and attraction of people for the movies. What if there are other factors of advertising that the company is missing to incorporate? May be they don't actually making lucrative trailers or short clipss? Thus, if the author provided evidence that all other aspects of advertisements are done perfectly, it would have been much more convincing.

Finally, the assertion concluded by the author raises some skeptical questions. What if the reports of the marketing team are faulty? Are there are other companys that are producing better movies? Do taste of people have chnages? Do the moves are actually getting increased positive reviews from crtitics? Without answering these questions, the reader is left with the assumption that the claim is just a wishful thinking of the author rather than sustantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further, the author should have provided evidence with the help of some statical data which are authentic with respect to whole market. Without any of them, the argument is weak.