Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A scandal is defined as a moral or a legal act that results in public outrage. The author prompts that scandals are very important to highlight topics that need our immediate attention better than any other speaker or reformer. I agree with this statement as scandals are really important to bring wrong doings of various authorities and people into public notice, but at the same time can vitiate our judgement by being biased for a particular side.

Scandals are very important to shed light on topics that are important and needs to be immediately addressed. Scandals can make people aware about the wrong doings of certain organizations that are concerned with public interest and are harmful for the public. For example, recently, the Facebook-Cambridge Analytica Scandal was a very big issue, where Facebook were accused of selling personal information of their users to Cambridge Analytica to support election campaigns in USA. This scandal caused huge public out-roar as it was a direct transgression of human rights and their privacy. Thus, due to the revelation of this scandal, the public became aware about the breach of their privacy and also helped concerned authorities to tighten norms that needs to be followed by organizations like Facebook.

Moreover, scandals also bring forward the problem of corruption in the government and other organizations. For instance, in 2010, India hosted the Common Wealth Games, the organization committee that was appointed by the government was charged with venality, and were accused of swindling over 100 million rupees. The scandal helped to bring attention to the wrong doings of the committee and thus, helped the law to catch the wrong-doers.

However, scandals do not always bring forward the true situation. Scandals are often one-sided and can conceal the truth. People use scandals to defame other as seen in the Show Business. In other words, they are just rumors that are spread to hinder someone's public reputation. Also, scandals are sometimes useless and are just gossips that do not require any public attention.

In conclusion, scandals are really important to bring forward issues that require immediate public attention. But not all scandals are right, and are sometimes used in a wrong way to corrupt public opinion about someone. Therefore, scandals, if used in a proper way, can be a really effective technique to spread information to the public.