Government funding for purely scientific endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding toward humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement may or may not be true.

Science is an expansive field which is still in a very inchoate state. People are continuously striving to decipher new problems in science. According to the author's statement, governments should cut off fundings from projects that do not directly benefit humans. I agree with this statement as governments have limited fundings, and therefore it makes sense for them to invest more on projects that make the world a better place to live and should only fund other projects if they have surplus funds.

Admittedly, purely scientific endeavors are important for the growth of science and to improve the understanding of the current scientific topics. For instance, the Light Hadron Collider(LHC) is a particle accelerator that was created in CERN, Switzerland, is a purely scientific endeavor which does not affect the lives of humans in any possible way, but was a huge step in the study of physics and understanding the origin of our planet. Similarly, space exploration missions to Moon helped scientists and astronomers to deepen their knowledge about space. These tasks should not be given priority, but shouldn't be neglected either. If the government has extra funds, it is their duty to invest them in projects like these to help in advancing science.

However, the priority of governments should always be the people of their country. Without sentient beings, what world do with all the scientific knowledge? For instance, is it more important for nations to invest on finding the cure for the new Corona Virus, which is spreading like wild fire all across the world or use all the funding to launch a satellite in space? Without a doubt, it is quintessential for a government to prioritize humanitarian science projects that can improve the living conditions of the people.

Another example can be the deteriorating conditions of the environment. The government should work on projects that help in ameliorating the current water crisis in the world. Global warming is another worrying issue that needs to be addressed. It is issues like these that the government should focus their funds on, rather than working on purely scientific endeavors.

In conclusion, it is very important for the government to invest in the study of new scientific advancements, but they should not prioritize it. Humanitarian science projects should always hold an upper hand as without humans there would be no use of all the acquired science knowledge. Therefore, governments should be prudent and be concerned with the well being of their people.