Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim prompts that there should change in the people that are holding powers in a certain organization after five years as it results in success. Although, it is possible that a new management might bring a new outlook with them that may lead to success, but constantly changing the power holders after certain years involves risks like instability and inefficiency of the long term plan laid by the current management. I disagree with the claim above and believe that change of power should not be frequent and rather there should be a proper mechanism to judge the working of the people in power and thereby deciding whether they should stay or not.

First of all, for the management to be make their organization successful, they sometimes need to create down a long term plan. It is a roadmap which is devised after meticulous study and research and is created by keeping a certain vision of the future in mind. For instance, Arsene Wenger, a former manager of Arsenal Football Club(in England) was appointed in 1996 and he finally left Arsenal in 2017. He was a manager who completely revolutionized the way the sport is played and the structure of Arsenal. If he wasn't allowed to stay for this long, he might not have been able to accomplish is vision and therefore, bring success to the club. It is really important for the management to stay if they have a big vision for their organization and are providing that organization with frequent successes.

Also, consider a case where the management is really doing well and the organization is flourishing under their reign. Would it be prudent to remove them from power just because they have served a term of 5 years? Preferably, before changing the management, we should consider their efficacy rather than following a standard policy to remove the power holders after five years.

Stability is the 'mantra' to Success. Constantly changing the people with power might bring instability to the organization. New people at the helm require some time to get accustomed to the organization. Further, due to the constant changes, the people with power might not be able as efficient as possible. We can see that most of the big organizations have long standing CEOs that do not change that often, thus maintaining stability and allowing the management to follow the plan laid by them properly.

However, nothing comes without it's limitations. It can be agreed that new people often bring with them unorthodox thinking that might act like a breath of fresh air for the organization and therefore, increase the productivity of the organization. For instance, governments that periodically change helps to address views of different strata of the society and keep the people of the nation happy and also solve problems that weren't previously solved by looking at the problem with a different outlook.

In conclusion, there should be no "hard and fast rule" where the power holders should be replaced periodically. Rather a proper mechanism should be set up according to which it should be decided whether the power holders should remain in power or not.