The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The proposal states that all the incandescent bulbs in public buildings should be replaced by LED lights, resulting in lowering of electrical bills of town X in the future. This statement is supported by the council's claims that LED lights burn brighter and costs the same as incandescent lights. But, the city council fails to answers a series of important questions and thus leaves the statement weak.The city council needs to answer two questions before we can consider their statement credible.

First of all, are LED lights more efficient than incandescent lights? The city council states that LED lights will burn brighter than incandescent lights, but does not talk about LED's efficacy. For instance, it is possible that LED lights are highly inefficient and the cost of electricity per light bulb increases by 20%. This, in turn, will result in an increase of electricity bill rather than decreasing it. Moreover, it is possible that the a typical life of a LED light bulb is less as compared to the life of a typical incandescent bulb. So, even if an LED light results in reduction of electricity bill, that reduction will be compensated by the expense of changing the light bulb more frequently than an incandescent light bulb. As a result, without stating the efficacy of LED lights, we cannot conclude that these lights will help in cutting the town's electricity bill and therefore weakens the statement.

Secondly, why only focus on the public buildings of the town? Usually, the public buildings in a city are very less as compared to houses and other private buildings, and so have a meager contribution in the town's total electricity bill. For instance, consider a town with 100 houses and only 3 public buildings - library, town hall and a police station. Changing the light bulbs in such a small percentage of buildings will not result in any significant reduction in the electricity bill. Due to the city council only addressing the public buildings, the reduction in the bill will not be that significant and as a result the the council's advice will not be that effective.

In conclusion, due to the above mentioned unanswered questions, the statement is based on some unjustified assumptions that needs to be answered. As of now, the statement remains highly flawed. If the city council can answer the questions asked in the form of a detailed report, their proposal will hold water.