A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

According to the argument presented, a researcher claims that employees who are not provided with sick leaves are more likely to be involved in a work-related accident. This is supported by claims like the people often feel pressured to work even if they are ill because of the fear of lack of pay, working when you are sick leads to impaired judgement and/or motor skills which increases the chances of an accident. It is also stated that this rate is even more higher in jobs like construction. Some of these assumptions are unjustified and needs to be addressed if the author wants that his hypothesis to hold water.

First of all, the study by Center for Disease Control and Prevention states that employees that are provided with sick leaves are 28% less likely to face any work-related problems than the ones who aren't provided with paid leaves. Is it possible that there is a huge difference in the accident rate in different jobs? For this claim to be justified in all fields of work, we need statistics for specific fields. For instance, it is possible that in fields like Teaching, accident rate is almost negligible and on the other hand, accident rate in high-risk jobs like construction is around 50%. This discrepancy in various fields can skew our judgements and result in an overall inflated results. We need a proper breakdown of the statistics for various different fields before considering it to be a valuable argument. Therefore, this weakens the argument.

Further, does the hypothesis consider the condition of the employee? It is claimed that due to illness accidents are increased due to impaired judgement and motor skills. But that happens only when the person is seriously ill. What if the person only has cold? It is not going to impair his judgements and motor skills severely in a way that it leads to an accident. The cold may make him less efficient, but it will not lead to any significant accident. If this question cannot be answered, the hypothesis will not be that effective.

Finally, does the research take into considerations other factors that may lead to accidents? The above statement says that the rate of accidents is even higher in case of high risk jobs when it comes to non paid workers. But the statement does not consider other factors that may be really important for the proper analysis of the issue. It is possible that the non paid worker wasn't working with in an attentive manner and was negligent while working. Also, a possible cause of accident can be in ineptness of the non-paid worker. This underlying assumption that hasn't been answered by the researcher makes the hypothesis seriously flawed.

The hypothesis as it stands now, is full of unjustified assumptions. If the researcher is able to answer the above asked questions in the form of a detailed report and provide more evidences for the claim, the hypothesis may be tenable