A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The author with a some evidences tries to claim that workers having an unpaid sick leave tend to have higher chances of working when they are in ill and in turn becoming more susceptible to job related accidents. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology, and distorts the view of the situation by misrepresenting facts and providing weak examples. To support the argument the author reasons that fearing the lack of pay, sick employees will feel pressured to work, causing a higher risk of on-job accidents. However, on scrutiny of the evidence will reveal that it provides little credible support to the author’s conclusion. Hence the argument seems unsubstantiated and requires exhaustive research to eliminate other possibilities and bolster the credibility of the argument.

Firstly, author’s largest leap in this argument seems that the employees with unpaid sick leaves tend to feel pressured to work even when they are ill. No evidence is given to support or second this hypothesis. In order to strengthen this part of the argument the researchers had ought to create a study of all the work related accidents where the ask the participants whether they have come in ill during the period of the original study and, if so, then why choose to come to work when you are ill? If this study had gone onto show that a significant number of employees came in due to the fear of lack of pay, then this would have gone on to enormously help the argument.

The researchers could have build up their argument by addressing the alternate explanations for the original study. For instance, they could addressed the backup and evidence for the assumption that 28% rise in the work related accidents is caused due to illness. They could have conducted a test to collect data to check the number of incidents due to incidents. Along with this for example, are hourly waged employees have a lesser chance of having a paid leave in comparison to salaried employees? Does the number of instances have any correlation to the job title or level of the employee? Is there a higher chance of manual occupations have a higher chance of having a sick work related to accident juxtaposed with the desk or indoor jobs. In such cases, the chances of having higher work related accidents can be due the inherently dangerous nature of the work and might not have anything to do with the choice of leaves.

Furthermore when the author claims the 28% number, then the data is presented lacks depth in detail causing an issue in analysing the significance of the provided data. How many people were surveyed? What was the margin of error? How statistically significant is the 28%? Say if the research is conducted over a myriad participants over various verticals, regions and job responsibilities then 28% is a huge number and it conveys something significant. On the other hand if the study has been done on a small target group with low variance then this represents a small number of participants and it makes the argument less severe. Moreover, unpaid sick leaves can also mean that the particular employee is indispensable asset to the team and they can’t spare you on a short notice.

While the argument provided is an interesting hypothesis, the data presented could have been more exhaustive in order to convince the reader. In conclusion, the author’s arguments seem unpersuasive as it stands To bolster it further, the author should have more concrete evidence and analysis for hypothesis being a good use of time and attention.