Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A school is a place where a child spends most of his day. It is very important that the school is in a presentable condition and should provide all possible amenities to the student. The claim suggests that if the school's buildings need repair, we should cut funding from extracurricular activities. I agree with this prompts and believe that even though extracurricular activities are extremely important for the holistic development of a child, it is much more essential to provide a proper infrastructure.

Admittedly, extracurricular activities is important for the overall development of a student. Extracurriculars teach student some of the very important qualities and skills in life like critical thinking, public speaking, team-work and discipline. It has been observed that students who are active in both academics and non-academics often face less stress in life. Thus, we cannot neglect the importance of non-academics in schools.

However, it is quintessential for a school to maintain it's buildings properly. The school should be in a presentable condition as it is the first thing that is considered during the admissions. If the admissions are affected, it will further affect both academics and non-academics. For instance, if we consider a school with ill-maintained buildings, a parent is less likely to admit their child into that school even if the academics is really good. If the admissions plummet, the school revenue will drop and as a result the school will have lack of funds for any kind of development. It would be prudent to cut the cost of extracurricular activities for a short period of time instead of facing long time repercussions.

Also, damaged buildings are a safety hazard. Would you let your child study in a school where you are not sure whether the school's building may fall after a feeble earthquake? Further, It would be wrong on the side of the school's board to put students on such a high risk and rather focus their funds on extracurricular activities.

Therefore, we should not completely neglect extracurricular activities as they are really important for a child's proper development, but if the school buildings require some serious repairs, it is going to be a wise move from the school's administration to invest their money on the school's building for a short time and if required, even cut funding from extracurricular activities.