The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the owner states that the chain of cheese stores all across the United states sold a variety of domestic as well as imported cheese. The memo concluded by saying that the most effective way cut the inventory cost is by discontinuing a variety of imported cheese and focus on domestic cheeses. because in most of the chain's newer stores, the best selling cheeses were the domestic ones and also a survey by Cheeses of the world magazine supported this claim. But the conclusion is flawed due to three evidences that can be found in the text.

First of all, it is stated that in the chain's "newer stores", the best selling cheeses were the domestic ones. Clearly, it cannot be determined whether the performance of the newer stores can be compared to the older stores. For instance, what if the states in which the newer stores were opened preferred domestic cheeses over the imported ones. That is, we cannot tell that due to increase in the sales of domestic cheddar cheese in the 5 newly opened stores in Washington can be compared to the numerous other stores opened in other states like New Jersey and Florida. Also, it is possible that the number of older stores are far higher than the number of newer stores opened. It is possible that the chain already has 10 stores and only 2 new stores were opened. Such a small number cannot determine the sales of other stores. Thus, this evidence weakens the owner's conclusion.

Secondly, according to the review conducted by the Cheeses of the World magazine, domestic cheese is preferred over imported cheese by their "subscribers". It has to be noted that the subscribers does not account for all the people that buy cheese from the chain's stores or just consume cheese in general. For example, it is possible that only 1% of the people who are subscribers of the World magazine actually buy cheese from the chain's stores. Therefore, the stores cater to over 10,000 people in a year, the survey only accounts for 100 of them, which is not a considerable amount. Thus, it is not wise for the chain to stop selling imported cheese only because a significantly small amount of their customers prefer domestic cheese over the imported ones. Therefore, this evidence further deteriorates the author's conclusion.

Finally, it is state that the "top five" selling cheeses in the newer stores are the domestic cheeses from Wisconsin. Being out of the top 5 can still be a very big number. Consider that what if in the top 20 cheeses sold in these stores, only the top five are domestic, and all the other 15 are imported. The chain's revenue will significantly drop if they discontinue selling some imported cheese. As a result, the owner's claim is seriously flawed.

The owner's decision of discontinuing stocking of a variety of imported cheese is a flawed decision as it is based on a series of unjustified assumptions. If the owner wants to go through with the decision, he should conduct a much more elaborate study that can answer the above mentioned three flaws and therefore, justify his action.