Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is contrary to my belief that school have to cut its funding for extracurricular activities when the school structure is in need of repair. Extracurrcicular activities are as important as the main academic aspect of school, because when bringing up the subject of school as an educational system, students’ need both academic part and non-academic part which is those extracurricular activities are providing.

Sports and arts are examples of the other non-academic part of study that students need for their life beside academic. In fact, the major part of human life is not about academic, the academic is just one of the tools needed to fill students with more knowledge and sufficient amount of critical thinking. One can not ignore the other part that is playing so much more in human condition: socializing with other people, living their life as what students’ want, striving for their hobby, or making friends with other students with the same hobby. That all contribute just as important as the academic study. When school starts to think that one is more important than the other, then it would produce an imbalance type of person who can be either a quite, unsociable, and extremely bitter critic or the practical and mindless person.

Moreover, not only it is crippled in the philosophy, It would also be wrong to limit the budget saved and fixed for these extracurricular activities, because the preceding system of budget dividing must have included these activities before, so it should not limit the chances for students to get what they deserve in the first place. Whether the school is being funded by government’s money or students’ parents money, the school should have made the basic funding spread for all of the school’s need. In this case, a good school should also have made a contingency plan if their property is broken or simply out of function.

Even if the school itself by some misfortune happen to lose their money, it should search for many other ways to provide the sum of money needed for the restoration of the building. For instance, they can work together with the student union to prepare a fund raising event for the well-being of the school or the school may want to borrow money first from bank, if talking about private schools. Public schools officials should come together and they can go make a proposal to the government in charge to help them with the issue. Those are the kind of ways to make it more constructive not only for the students, but also for the school itself.

All in all, there should always be a contingency plan at first to prevent the need of extra money for the repairment of the school structure, but in case of inevitable condition, the school should find many other ways as described to raise money. Because of all things, students’ should not be sacrificed, they have to get both academic part and also the extracurricular activites necessary for their tools to become better people of the world.