Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

This material lacks some information that would help to make the mentioned explanation sound. Three questions should be assessed: does global worming affect the area, described in the passage, what time of the year are the reports made at and what is the real cause of the decline?

The first question arises due to the fact that global warming can leave some areas without any aberration from normal temperature. In this case, if the area is considered to be an untouched one from the prospective of weather changes, the living conditions of Arctic deer of the area will not be changed. On the other hand, if there is no such evidence, the explanation in the passage will be strengthened, meaning that the animals were truly affected by the change of weather conditions.

The second question concerns the reports, particularly the time of the year when they were made. If the reports were made at the time, when the migration of the animals caused the area to be empty, the conclusion about animal population decline will lie on biased grounds. Therefore an answer to this question will give the opportunity to assess the cause-effect relationship through a transparent frame without any ambiguity.

The third important question that should be answered is the one related to the real cause of the decline of the population of deer. The coincidence of the weather changes with the cut of the number of the animals does not necessarily mean that there are not any other circumstances affecting the decline. An answer to this question will allow understand if the weather conditions were the only factor to cause the decline.

As it can be seen, more information is needed to understand the real answer to the question; however it might come true that the real answer is the one, given in the passage.