Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument asseverates that the purported decline in Arctic deer population inhabiting Canada’s arctic regions springs from deer incapable of adhering to their perennial migratory routes across the frozen sea, which has been adversely affected by the melting sea ice, professedly caused by global warming. Although the argument in the prompt appears ostensibly conniving, several specific pieces of evidence are needed in order for the justification of the validity and soundness of the argument.

First and foremost, reports from local hunters might not manifest the truth. Specifically, since no further information is proffered on how local hunters might have deduced the decline in deer populations, we cannot in actuality attest to such a claim. Did these hunters go to where the deer moved and count the number of the deer population and make a comparison between the number of deer population prior to and after the purported decline? If so, we could be more confident about the claim with respect to the deer populations in decline. However, if not, then the claim about the deer populations in decline should be taken with a grain of salt.

Furthermore, should the deer populations are declining, as stated by local hunters, more evidence pertinent to the underlying cause of the decline should be provided in order to bolster the author’s argument. To wit, the author seems to ascribe the declining deer populations to the deer’s failure to follow their long-established migratory patterns across the frozen sea to reach their living resources. However, the correlation here cannot be considered the causality. Just because deer populations could not follow their traditional routes of moving does not necessarily denote that this is the cause of their decline. The author should probe into whether the age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea are the one and only method for the deer populations to get access to necessary sustenance. If so, then the validity of the argument could be further strengthened since the only means for the deer populations to get food were bereaved, leaving the animals no food to survive. However, if the determinants of the population decline lie elsewhere, such as local hunters over-hunting the deer or the food resources becoming scarcer, then the soundness of the argument made in the prompt would become attenuated.

The last respect, or specifically a piece of evidence, that should be properly appraised by the author for his argument is that supposed that the reports from local hunters are accurate and that the cause of the declining deer population is due to the claim that deer populations could no longer rely on their age-old migration patterns, the author should still evaluate what truly contributed to deer’s inability to follow their routes. According to the author, the reports from the local hunters coincided with the recent trends of global warming, which is therefore believed to have caused the melting of the sea ice, the result of which might have led to the deer’s inability to migrate as they could have before. However, the coincidence of the two events (i.e. global warming and the melting of the sea ice) needs more critical analysis since global warming does not necessarily make itself the sole factor that causes the melting of the sea ice. Maybe the sea ice was melted because of the rising of the arctic regions in Canada. Therefore, the author’s argument could not stay foolproof without the provision of clear-cut evidence that pinpoints the real cause of the melting of sea ice.

All told, although there are some merits in the author’s argument concerning the purported decline in deer population and their inability to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea, the author, however, needs to cite more robust evidence in order to buttress his argument. Evidence such as the veracity of the local hunters’ reports, the root cause of the decreasing deer population, and the culprit of the melting sea ice is all necessary, if not mandatory, in order to gauge whether the author’s argument would hold or not.