Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

population is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. To buttresses his/her argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, Arctic deer need to limit their habitats to both warm and cold areas by migration; second, the reports local hunters and recent global warming trends show that the deer populations are decreasing. Tough the issue pointed have its merit, because of lack of relevant evidence and unaddressed assumptions, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the creditability of the reports by local hunters is questionable. According to them, the deer populations are declining. It is possible the hunters mistakenly count the number of deer in the warm areas when a mass of deer actually live in cold areas. The population of deer calculated this way is unwarranted. In conclusion, the untested report by local hunter does not give strong evidence to support the variation in local environment.

In addition, the author unfairly assumes that the recent global warming trend takes place in the Arctic. The assumption seems valid at first glance. A careful investigation curtails its validity, since global trend does not necessarily apply to this specific area. If the temperature of arctic goes up, then it is possible that the migration of deer will be affected, thus supporting the author’s argument. If, nonetheless, the temperature goes down, we may indicate that there is no direct relationship between the migration of deer and global warming trend.

Last but not least, the author mistakenly ascribe the decline of deer in artic to their inability to follow their traditional migration patterns crossing the frozen sea. He/she fails to consider many other factors leading to its decline. For example, deer cannot acquire enough food, for which plants that used to feed on are extinct. Deer suffer from hunger owing to lack of enough food for survival. Another possible explanation of the recline in deer falls in the degraded habitat. Human activities cause indirect but negative impact on the ecology systems that affects the whole earth. Deer fail to find place for living and may be subjected to the death in this case. In conclusion, inconclusive explanations for the declining trend in deer makes the author's argument problematic.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is based on several invalid assumptions which undermines its reliability. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is suggested to include the facts as follows: first, the reports from local hunter went over careful and conprehensive calculation and is tested to be true by the most reputed experts; second, global warming also applies in artic, directly causing effect on the living of deer; finally, the sever impact of migration pattern is the only cause to declining in deer population, after excluding all other possible approaches.