Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author makes the claim that in order to preserve the regions of West Lansberg's biodiversity, the council should not allow a road to be built. This assumption is based on the weak claim that the decline of a completely different animal in another sanctuary happened after development was allowed on its wetlands. Below will address all the limitations and flaws in the authors evidence.

A decline in one species can not be applied to a completely different species. These animals might have very different needs and thus have different susceptibiity to urban development. Additionally, how do we know the decline in the sea utter was due to the development of roads? The decline could be due to other factors such as climate change, pollution, disease, etc. Additionally, the conditions today are very different from the conditions of 1978. Today, there is a more awareness to the impacts of urbanization on habitats. Stronger links between the animals and urbanization need to be made.

The author doesn't include any information about the groundhog in Eastern Carpenteria (EC). This seems like more of an apple to oranges argument than apples to apples. The author should include information about the groundhog in EC. Does the groundhog exist in EC? What about other species in EC? There has to be other species in EC, so how have those populations been affected? The author has a clear lack of support that can be used as a direct comparision.

The author could strengthen is argument by including details on exactly how both the sanctuaries and the sea utter and groundhog are similar. Furthermore, providing details on how the road developments will be similar and that this lead to the same consequences should be included. Doing so, would strengthen the evidence that what happened in EC is likely to happen in West Lansburg if roads are allowed to be built. Lastly, the author should provide more examples on how urbanization has historically wiped out biodiversity, possibly linking the idea that it is even worse today than in 1978.

It is clear that the authors agruments to support his conclusion that roads should not be built to perserve biodiversity is completely flawed. He fails to strongly link the idea that what happened to the sea utter will happen to the groundhog. Additionally, the author provides little information on how the habitats and developments in both areas are similar. Doing so would strength the comparision and his argument. The author clearly has more work to do.